The Shetland Tourism Association held its AGM on Wednesday the 10th of November. Jolene Garriock, owner of Island Vista, was elected as the association's new chairwoman after Emma Miller stepped down.

The Shetland Tourism Association held its AGM on Wednesday the 10th of November in The Dowry’s new function room on Commercial Street. The event was the association’s first in-person meeting since the pandemic began and saw an excellent turnout of both members and stakeholders.

After 4 years at the helm of the association, Emma Miller stepped down as Chair. After her appointment as the Project Manager for the Lerwick Tall Ships event in 2023 she said she felt that she was unable to fully dedicate the association the attention and time it deserves.

Jolene Garriock of Island Vista was elected as the new Chairperson. She returned to the association’s committee, serving as the representative for the Central Mainland, Whalsay and Skerries, having previously stepped down from this role when Island Vista was awarded the contract to complete the Tourism Services Assessment commissioned by the STA in spring 2021.

Jolene Garriock thanked Ms Miller for all her hard work saying “Emma has turned the Association around and laid the groundwork for us to become a much more dynamic force for change and development in our sector. I am sure we all want to express our heartfelt thanks to her. I am delighted to take on the role of Chair but am very much aware that I have some big shoes to fill.”

Emma Miller said “I’m really sorry to be stepping down as I feel the association has a really important role to play right now but as it is such a key role, I really feel that the Chair has to be able to give 100% to the role. My other commitments mean that I simply don’t have capacity to do that. As a friend said – You can do anything you want but you can do everything! I wish Jolene all the very best in her new role and I think she will make an excellent job of it.”

Ms Miller will retain an active role in the organisation as the committee member for Events. Steve Henry and James Tait remain as Vice Chair and Treasurer respectively. While Development Officer, Osla Jamwal-Fraser, took up the role of Secretary in the absence of other nominees. Esme Wilcock joined the committee as the representative for the North Mainland and Laureen Garriock as the member for Transport. The post for a representative for Sport and Leisure remains vacant.

Contact details for Jolene Garriock as the new Chair are: Tel. 01595 69 6966 / 07770 837 011

Contact details for the STA development Officer remain unchanged: Tel. 07842 564 921

Contact Details Phone: Email:

Join a community of business owners and operators who share your ambition to make your businesses more profitable, successful and innovative as we seek to maximise opportunities in the growing tourism sector in Shetland.